Skip navigation

Some Panoramas from Tasmania. Used Hugin for the stitching.

60 Comments

  1. Breathtaking colors and such sweeping views — LOVE panoramic pix!

    :)

  2. I was about to sign out of “Freshly Pressed” and the photo on this selection caught my eye. Beautifully done! Thank you for sharing with WordPress family.

  3. Beautiful!

  4. These are so cool! I need to try this out myself sometime.

    • cpeckmediastudent
    • Posted March 9, 2012 at 5:22 am
    • Permalink

    wonderful to look at

  5. Simply stunning and flawless panoramic views! Loved every one of them…

  6. Lovely photos! :)

    • Raaj Trambadia
    • Posted March 9, 2012 at 5:52 am
    • Permalink

    Wow !! I can just imagine the ‘full screen’ view in front of your eyes !! Gr8 pics :D Cheers

    And please check out my latest post – http://raajtram.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/i-me-myself/

    And even my new PhotoBlog – http://raajclicks.wordpress.com/2012/02/29/oh-i-love-my-laptop/

    • Carlie Chew
    • Posted March 9, 2012 at 6:07 am
    • Permalink

    Gorgeous! I’m in love with the first one (and the other three : ))

  7. Beautiful. My poor little screen doesn’t do them justice ;)

    • Space lady
    • Posted March 9, 2012 at 6:26 am
    • Permalink

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!

  8. good content and good site

  9. Thanks for the wonderful photos.
    Connie
    http://7thandvine.wordpress.com/

  10. Stunning. Will have to get myself over to Tassie at some point – looks great for hiking.

  11. Beautiful!! Thank you!

  12. NICE

  13. Sweet photos

  14. So beautiful photos. Compliments. Thanks for sharing. Many greetings from Italy.

  15. Reblogged this on ysbang68.

  16. Wow…they look amazing!

  17. Just wonderful, wish I had the equipment and opportunities for this type of shooting

    -Pepper

    • hughca
    • Posted March 9, 2012 at 10:20 am
    • Permalink

    Thanks!
    You don’t really need anything special, I’m sure any camera would be fine. Hugin (http://hugin.sourceforge.net/) is open source and was very easy to use. Give it a try!

  18. Thank you for the program link!

    My main problem is getting to a place I can bring my camera without fear and having lovely places like your pictures to photograph.

    Then of course setting up a tripod there. =)

    -Pepper

  19. Very cool!

    • hughca
    • Posted March 9, 2012 at 10:31 am
    • Permalink

    I’m sure you can find somewhere to take some shots, I think you can find interesting views everywhere!
    Don’t worry about a tripod, I didn’t use one for any of these, just try to keep the camera level and stay in the same spot as you take the shots.

  20. WOW! Really?
    You must have the steady hands of a surgeon.
    It does encourage me though that I may yet get these shots!

    -Pepper

  21. Great chromaticism!

  22. nice

  23. From a Tasmanian… Please spell Tassie Tassy. Love your images, particularly of Wine Glass Bay. I remember walking there with my family on a summer holiday and my dad insisting that we all had to swim in the water. It became a competition for who could stay in the longest. I think I lasted 2min before I froze! Did you pick yourself up a book of Peter Dombrovskis photography before you left?

    • hughca
    • Posted March 9, 2012 at 2:37 pm
    • Permalink

    I really loved Tasmania, you’re lucky to live in such a beautiful place. Thanks for pointing out Peter Dombrovskis, I’ll check out his work. I did get have the opportunity to look through a book of photographs by Olegas Truchanas and I especially loved the photos of Lake Pedder before it was flooded.
    So is it Tassy or Tassie? Beacuse I already did spell it Tassy..?

  24. Tassie is the spelling.

    Actually I don’t live there anymore, my family have been there for generations, but I’ve been living overseas for a while- Papua New Guinea, Singapore, Switzerland and Indonesia have been home at various stages of my life.

  25. Awesome photo’s

    • hughca
    • Posted March 9, 2012 at 3:35 pm
    • Permalink

    Thanks, I’ll use “Tassie” from now on :-)

  26. Awesome images – keep up the good work!

    • Aidyearts
    • Posted March 9, 2012 at 5:03 pm
    • Permalink

    I like it ! Beautiful !!

  27. I love these beautiful pictures of Tasmanian panoramas. Never been there, wish I were at least once

  28. Reblogged this on springoutdoors and commented:
    Panoramic photography is really cool. These are some great examples.

  29. Amazing photos. I will look into Hugin – am very interested in learning more about stitching.

    • aoifebeatty
    • Posted March 9, 2012 at 9:23 pm
    • Permalink

    Hey, The pics are awesome, love the stitching – I have lots of shots I have been meaning to try and do justice to with an easy to use programme. Hopefully I’ll be a whizz with hugin! We are in Tassie, living across the river from where the fires were, and nearly had to evacuate on the Sunday – luckily the wind changed! Thanks for the great pics

    • Raymond Antony
    • Posted March 9, 2012 at 9:52 pm
    • Permalink

    Beautiful

  30. Love the sweeping vistas!! Thank you for sharing!

    http://arabianmusings.wordpress.com/

  31. Reblogged this on sambaltempoyak and commented:
    WOW!!! Is Hugin free? using Microsoft ICE which crashing my comp all the time!

    • Rob Slade
    • Posted March 10, 2012 at 12:05 am
    • Permalink

    Breathtaking!

    • Nandini
    • Posted March 10, 2012 at 12:24 am
    • Permalink

    Stupendous! Great photography. And the places are beautiful! :)

  32. wow… just wow

  33. Love your photos and love Tasmania too! So much to see and do in such a small area. Hope to get back there some day.

  34. Nice photos and scenery.

  35. Funny how nature has its way of creating Art by simply existing.

  36. Superb!!!

  37. Cool.
    Try mountain pics on my blog nikeshghimire.wordpress.com.
    Am especially proud of pictures from Taplejung and Dhampus.
    :-)

  38. Awesome!!! I’d like to spend my holidays there…………..

  39. Simply beautiful. :D

  40. Dream landscapes…

  41. The most awesome set of panorama pictures I have seen in a long time!

  42. Really awe inspiring panoramic views! :)

  43. Beautiful images of one of my favourite places on earth.

  44. Oh my, this is what you call Panoramic! Nice! :)

    • bestweddingdressforyou
    • Posted March 13, 2012 at 2:01 pm
    • Permalink

    i like your shootings very much!

  45. It’s wonderful to see you capture the place I call home so perfectly. I hope you enjoyed your trip down to Tassie :)

  46. opravdu krásné fotky.


Leave a Reply

